Vanilla Espresso Coconut Milk Soap

I am using the other half of my frozen coconut milk cubes for this recipe. so half coconut milk half distilled water. Because of the sugars it should reach a higher temperature, hence the freezing of the coconut milk. The soap wont be insulated at the end because I don’t want a mess, I find that my soap mold fits perfectly into the door part of my freezer so I will place it there until it cools off.

This soap will have two layers that are both going to discolor so I am not particularly worried about scorching. I expect it to darken considerably from the fragrance oils. I will be using pearly white mica to bring it down to a lighter brown vanilla layer and tan espresso layer with flecks of finely ground coffee. Because the fragrances will discolor differently I will have twice as much Mica in the Vanilla portion. I am also hoping to get a nice jagged look between the layers. For my extra leftover soap I made individual Vanilla and Espresso soaps without mixing them(much).


Ingredients:

10.25 oz Coconut Oil

10.75 oz Palm Oil

10.25 oz Olive Oil

2 oz Castor Oil

1.75 oz Cocoa Butter

4.99 oz Sodium Hydroxide

5.77 oz Distilled Water

5.77 oz Coconut Milk

2-3 tablespoons Bentonite Clay

Pearly White Mica

1.2 oz Espresso Fragrance

1.2 oz Vanilla Fragrance

one pinch of Espresso, fine ground


Notes:

I added the clay to the oils before the lye and I added the frozen coconut milk cubes to slushy, near frozen distilled water just before incorporating the lye into  the water.

At light trace I separated the batter and added the mica then added the fragrance oil to the bottom layer, and brought it to a fairly thick trace in an attempt to make jagged edges that wont squash as soon as I layer on top of it. Once the bottom layer is poured and ready to go I added the fragrance to the second batch then layered it gently on top. In reality my technique evolved into using a spatula to create channels to pour soap into. I’ll have to regroup and try that technique again some time.


Cut  Bars & Discolor Progression

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

