Summer Cocktails 2016

I was enjoying the heat on my days off and I know what it takes after 15 years in the desert to prepare for enjoying hot weather. I decided on a tropical theme so I sifted through my music collection until I found my Martin Denny, Dick Dale and Harry Belafonte, stuff like that.  I went to the store to get some lime seltzer water and I came across Jackfruit in the specialty produce area, how perfect. I am not one to pass up specialty fruit. Jackfruit is a massive watermelon sized spikey thing that grows in trees and is related to the breadfruit. It tastes like a mix of mango and pineapple.

Jackfruit Lime and Basil

Ingredients

1/4 cup diced jackfruit

1 can lemon or lime seltzer water

1 lime, juiced

2-3 Fresh basil leaves(I tend to use smaller leaves, maybe just most of a whole sized leaf.)

2 oz gin

Ice cubes

Instructions

Add diced jackfruit, lime juice to a tall glass.

Tear basil into smaller pieces, add to glass and muddle slightly.

Add Ice and 2 oz Gin.

Fill remaining glass with seltzer water.

Use lime wedge for decoration.


Sour Cherry Gin

20160822_210614.jpg

Ingredients

2 oz tart cherry juice

2 oz gin

Juice from 1 lemon

1 can lemon seltzer water

Ice

Instruction

Add the juices, gin and ice to the glass, fill rest of glass with seltzer water. Use lemon wedge for decoration.

 

One thought on “Summer Cocktails 2016

  1. Pingback: Refreshing Prickly Pear Summer Drink | Morningrise Kitchen

Leave a Reply

