Cold Process Salt Bars

 

I have my Salt Bar recipe built and I’ve taken a few days to watch all of the YouTube video’s on it I can find. I need the volume of my silicone molds calculated and I think I will have enough for my sheet of round molds and a bit of overflow to my plastic molds.

A few lessons I have learned from observing other soapers are as follows.

  • Most soapers are using a near equal amount of salt to the amount of oil used. Salt kills most bubbles and coconut oil is an exception so you need to use a high amount of it in your recipe. 60-80% seems most common.
  • That much coconut oil will be very drying so the superfat must be somewhere between 10-20%
  • Add your fragrance to your salt and add your salt at thin trace, it will thicken quickly so work fast.
  • Use silicone molds if you have them, the soap will be hard and brittle from all the salt so cut your soap as soon as 2 hours after pouring. almost everyone I observed waiting 24 hours to mold had broken loaf soaps.

 

So.. with these guidelines in mind I begin.

I am using 80% Coconut oil, then Palm, Avocado and Castor Oil’s for the rest. For the salt I am using Breton Sea Salt at 75% to the weight of the oils. I will be superfatting at 15%.

I will be splitting the batch in two and making 2 separate scents. Peppermint(2X) Essential Oil, and Apple Sage fragrance oil a sample I got from Brambleberry.

I will in the pot swirl each with one of my new micas. I selected Caribbean Blue for the Peppermint, and Kelly Green for the Apple Sage.

I added the fragrance to the salt before hand. The peppermint was pretty intense in my tiny kitchen for a while.

I let everything cool to about 100 degrees and then tried to work reasonably fast.

Here was the result. (Half of my kitchen light is burnt out so it’s a little dim)

 

After a few hours it was still pretty soft so I let it go longer. I tried to unmold the next morning, they were crumbly but firm, so I added them to the freezer before unmolding the rest.

Not perfect but it was about what I expected for my first try.

For fun I used my new Dash Cam to record the making of this soap so I may post that as soon as I figure out what software to use and get it edited.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

