Cold Process Soap with Natural Colorants

20160225_220311.jpg

I made this recipe with an even 9.75 oz amount of olive, palm and coconut oils. Then 2.5 oz rice bran oil, 1.25 oz cocoa butter and 2 oz castor oil. For colorant I used alkanet root infused sunflower oil and spirulina which I did not measure. For texture I added finely hand ground lavender flowers. I wasn’t really planning on adding colorant at all when I started this project so I had a thicker trace than I wanted and the design was not thought out well. Applying plastic over the top before I insulated them and a bit of soda ash make them not very good looking at this point. I certainly have some cleanup to do on these and in hind site I should have changed up the design on each row for variety.

20160226_174122.jpg

After 48 hours the alkanet is turning a light bluish purple color, the spirulina provides a slight green tinge and the ground lavender flowers are discoloring and becoming visible dark flecks.

 

20160227_133517_richtonehdr.jpg

I’ll let them cure for a while before I try any clean up on them. And if they are destined to not look that great in the end they will still have an amazing Rosemary and Lavender scent.

20160227_092855.jpg

Leave a Reply

