Pork Mushroom Eggroll Adventure!

I have to admit I don’t get Asian flavor combinations, for me it’s the unknown… my brain cant imagine what the flavor combinations are going to taste like in advance and that’s something I really rely on when cooking, it feels a little like cooking blind. I’ve decided to start with baby steps.

My feared combination here is ginger mixed with garlic. It turned out nothing like what my taste buds could predict at all and it was delicious, I made the same thing the very next day. It’s not far off the mark from most of the recipes I was finding all over the internet so here was my take on a standard pork eggroll recipe I was seeing, basically I just substituted half the pork with a portabella mushroom.

Ingredients:

1/2 lb Pork Sausage

1/4 teaspoon powdered Ginger

1/4 teaspoon powdered Garlic

1 large Portabella Mushroom, diced

1/2 cup shredded Carrot

1 cup shredded Cabbage

1 package of pre-made Eggroll Wrappers

1 tablespoon Water

1 tablespoon Flour

Peanut Oil for frying

Instruction:

Add oil for frying to frying pan and set aside, in another skillet add Sausage, Garlic and Ginger and cook on medium heat until cooked through.

Meanwhile, shred carrots and cabbage, set both aside in a large bowl.  Dice the mushroom and set aside.

Once the Sausage is cooked add it to the bowl of carrot and cabbage and return the pan to the heat, add portabella and cook until liquid is released and they start to become darker and mushy about 4 or 5 minutes. Add mushrooms to mixture in bowl and stir until all ingredients are mixed well. rotate the pan with the peanut oil to the burner and heat to frying temperature.

While the oil heats prepare the eggrolls, in a small bowl combine the water and the flour into a paste.

Place a large spoon full of mixture into the center of the egg roll wrapper and fold according to the eggroll packaging instructions, use a bit of flour paste to seal the seam of the eggroll wrapper.

Fry until golden brown, set aside on paper towels to cool before eating. I found that I liked larger eggrolls so there was less wrapper overlay.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

