Pesto

I almost always have basil growing in my aerogarden, this time around I have three of them growing at once so I’ve been making a lot of pesto.

IMG_4667

Pesto

In a blender Add:

40-50 basil leaves

2 tablespoons of pine nuts( or walnuts)

2-3 cloves of garlic (depending on size)

2 tablespoons grated cheese( parmesan or something similar I prefer aged gouda)

a pinch of sea salt

~1/2 cup olive oil (add until it blends smoothly)

Blend well

 

I use my pest mostly on sliced Baguette with cheese, pesto mayo on sandwiches and Pesto Pasta is incredibly easy to make.

Substituting walnuts for pine nuts doesn’t change the flavor much at all, I could hardly tell the difference.

 

IMG_4755

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

