Fresh Rose Ideas and Foot Soaks

I’ve got a respiratory infection so in the interim of filling a few orders for people I’ve been mostly dead, my love bought me roses and I am using them to the best of my ability, in my condition. I put a few in each of my vases and placed one vase in each room for a few days, I took one with me each day I went to work and randomly gave it to someone. I started doing this after I got stood up for a birthday party and I gave a random stranger a bouquet of wild flowers and it made me feel fabulous seeing this girl’s face light up. Then I slept in a rose petal strewn bed, but I’m sick so it wasn’t as romantic as I hoped, I was like a dying, fever ridden, not quite princess, but it did make me feel better somehow. Then quick dried most of the rest of them for later use before they wilted too much and used the remainder in some foot soaks and baths.

IMG_4531

 

Moroccan Red Clay Foot Soak with Fresh Roses

1 teaspoon Red Moroccan Clay

1 Rose, petals removed and stem discarded

1/4 cup Epsom Salt

1 large pan of comfortably hot water

 

or for a bath…

3 teaspoons Red Moroccan Clay

2 Roses, petals removed and stem discarded

1 cup Epsom Salt

 

 

Quick Drying Rose Petals

Gently remove petals from stem and discard stem. Place a paper towel on a plate and arrange the rose petals on the paper towel so they aren’t overlapping.

IMG_4543

Place in microwave and microwave for 1 minute. After a minute the petals will have lost some volume due to moisture loss so they can be better arranged to not overlap at this point if needed. Microwave in 1 minute bursts, checking after each minute. Generally after three minutes the petals are mostly dried and stiff. Remove from microwave, the plate will be very warm. Transfer petals to a drying rack or layer in paper towels and set in a dark dry place with no air drafts for about 2 days. Bag up your rose petals for when they are needed.

IMG_4545


 

Also I’ve needed this one this week.

 

The ‘I have a cold’ foot soak

1/4 cup Epsom Salt

5 drops Eucalyptus Essential Oil

3 Drops Camphor Essential Oil

1 tablespoon Dried Eucalyptus Leaf(optional)

1 large pan of comfortably hot water

 

Leave a Reply

