Alkanet Root, Beet Root Powder Lip Balm Colorant

Beet root powder is water soluble not oil soluble. Having said this I hope it will help someone not make the simple mistake I did of adding it to a water free lip balm.. it clumped and sank to the bottom even though some of it mixed in… then I reheated and mixed more… same result, thrice for the sake of science!… same result, it wasn’t blending evenly and would sink as the balm was cooling… Here is the result of that.. top and bottom.

IMG_4227IMG_4228

So to properly get a good mixture I would have to use a bit of water (or vegetable glycerin?) and emulsify it. which isn’t on my agenda until after I experiment with the Alkanet root. I need to read about this a little bit more and come up with a recipe before I try this one again because I think I like this color the best, in the mean time…

IMG_4213

Alkanet Root on the other hand is oil soluble. What I bought was not a powder so I put it in the blender for a few minutes until it was finer particulate and then poured roughtly 1 1/2 tablespoons in  roughly 1/2 cup of sunflower oil.

IMG_4225

It turned red immediately but I let it sit for a few days, shaking it up occasionally and then strain it.

After two days I mixed some into one of my already made balms and got this. It’s a beautiful rosie pink that was even and did not sink or clump.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

