Adventures in Nopoo (8 months)

I have put a lot of food in my hair.. I guess that sounds odd but its true. A lot of skin and scalp issues I was having was caused by shampoo, so I stopped using it and started using things people used from before shampoo existed which isn’t as terrible as it sounds. Plus what others use as the modern shampoo alternatives. But as for food in my hair…

Banana, honey, dark rye flour, yogurt, sour cream, egg, carrot juice, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, coconut oil, olive oil, sunflower oil, avocado oil, almond oil, coconut milk, pumpkin puree, black tea, chamomile tea, avocado, oatmeal, paprika, other stuff I’ve totally forgotten about.

All in the name of science.

I have pinpointed some things that work well for me, but one thing I have learned is that hair care is incredibly different person to person.

Dark Rye Flour hair wash for greasy, oily hair

1 tablespoon dark rye flour
~1/4 c. cool Water

Add water slowly and mix until it is the consistency of shampoo. Apply and massage scalp and work through hair with fingers, rinse thoroughly to get all of the grit from the rye flour out of your hair. It is a bit stubborn to get it out of your hair but I got the hang of it after a wash or two. This works well enough I generally do not use it more than once a week.

Dry Itchy Scalp Hair Care

In a small bowl mix equal parts

1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon silicone free conditioner natural conditioner
1 tablespoon aloe vera juice
1 tablespoon vegetable glycerin

If you have an aloe vera plant instead of aloe vera juice you can trim away the skin and yellow flesh and blend the clear jelly until smooth.

Mix well and apply to roots and scalp, work towards the ends of your hair. The mixture is pretty thin, once you have saturated your hair, cover it with a towel for about 10 minutes before washing it out.  Vegetable Glycerin will behave differently depending on the weather so I recommend omitting it when it is extremely hot/humid or dry/cold.

Leave a Reply

