Sour Cream Herbed Flour Tortilla Recipe

I didn’t have the right ingredients the first time I tried to make my own tortillas so I adapted with what I had, I’ve made them like this ever since because I like the flavor of these.  This is an approximate recipe, I generally add the sour cream and water together for the final result of 1 cup of liquid without being exact so it’s slightly different every time I make it. Sometimes I have no Lard and use shortening, sometimes I have neither and use vegetable oil and more butter. The herbs and the sour cream give this recipe a nice flavor and I’ve always been happy with the result.

Sour Cream Herbed Flour Tortillas

4 cups Flour

1 tsp Salt

2 tsp Baking Powder

2 tbs Lard or Vegetable Shortening

1/4 cup Herbed Butter, room temperature(I recommend Kerrygold herbed butter.)

1/2 cup Sour Cream

2/3 cup Water

Mix flour, salt and baking powder in a bowl then add lard/shortening and butter until it’s the consistency of corn meal. Add Sour cream, water until the dough comes together. Kneed until smooth and elastic.

With a knife cut in half, then cut in half again and continue until you have 16-24 dough balls that are roughly the same size.

IMG_3216

Cover the dough balls with a warm damp towel while you roll out the tortillas and cook them. Roll out dough ball as thin as you can or till about the size of a large sized store bought tortilla.

I use a really large skillet on medium high heat to cook the tortillas but you could use a flat griddle also. Place tortilla in pan and flip after 20-40 seconds. Tortillas should begin to bubble and will start to turn light golden brown. I generally don’t let them cook too much as I will be reheating them again when used.  Remove from heat place in a warm folded towel or paper towels. Allow to cool completely then seal in air tight container.

IMG_3220

I generally get into a rhythm where I roll  out a tortilla as I am cooking one and I synchronize the pan flips and dough rolling flips until they are all made. I find that if I roll them out and let them sit they shrink up and are too thick so I roll them super thin and immediately add them to the hot pan.

Leave a Reply

