Citrus Air Freshener and Carpet Deodorizer

I buy citrus regularly and I was looking up what I can do with the peels and I really like this one as it makes my apartment smell delicious as well as warms things up. I use it quite frequently.

Citrus peels (I generally use the peel of one orange or lemon but I’ve even used kumquats so I needed about 10 of them.)

10-12 cloves

1/2 stick of cinnamon

a 2 quart pot of gently boiling water

Add all ingredients, I usually break the citrus peel down to half dollar sized pieces. Boil until water is low, add water, boil until water is low. Discard.

 

And for something more modern there is also carpet deodorizer.

1 cup of baking soda

Essential oil of your choice. (I made Grapefruit Bergamot to compliment the air freshener. I added about 10 drops of each essential oil. )

Mix in bowl, add to shaker container of some sort with large holes. (I used a large prescription bottle with holes cut in the top.)

 

Additional citrus projects I haven’t gotten around to…

Drying citrus peels for sachets.

Citrus Sugar Scrub

Lemon Pepper

Citrus Multi Purpose Cleaning Spray

Lemon Extract

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

