Lavender Hair Rinse + Skin Toner

I like this one but it’s also my first hair rinse. It sure as hell beats not using it so I’ll have to experiment with other variations later.

I believe that I read about 20 recipe websites before I made this. I also consulted several ebooks. It was one of my first creations. It’s a recipe that’s been around longer than I have so I’m not going to link credit to anyone in particular. Vinegar when used in hair can remove buildup from other hair products you may be using, it can also close the cuticle making hair look shiny and is a  natural sort of detangler. I guess I haven’t paid attention, I certainly haven’t notice more tangles. Additionally vinegar is great for an itchy dry scalp and can reduce or eliminate dandruff.

Lavender Hair Rinse Recipe + Skin Toner

water(filtered)

dried lavender flowers

lavender essential oil

apple cider vinegar

It’s a loose recipe it doesn’t have to be exact. Take about 2 cups of water and bring to a gentle boil in a pot on the stove, Add around 4-6 teaspoons of dried lavender flowers and remove from heat. Steep until the water is room temperature, stirring occasionally. This could take a couple of hours. Strain out the lavender flowers, I generally run the liquid through a couple of coffee filters to get any of the small sediment out that would gather in the bottom.

I separate liquid into two parts that are roughly 1 cup each.

To one of the parts add about 1/4-1/3 cup of vinegar. Then add around 5-8 drops of essential oil and mix well. I use this mix as a skin toner. I recommend storing this in a sealable glass container over a plastic one.

The other half of the liquid I add about a half a cup of vinegar(you can add up to a 50-50 mix of vinegar but I like a little less) 8-10 drops of essential oil and mix well. This I use as hair rinse. I pour it into a spray bottle, Spray it in my hair and massage it into my scalp after I have used shampoo/conditioner and let it sit for up to 10 minutes before rinsing.

Leave a Reply

