Coffee and Cocoa Body Butter Recipe

I got a little impatient with letting my coffee oil infuse so I stole 1/3 of a cup(leaving the rest to infuse for another few weeks) and made some coffee infused body butter.

I infused into coconut oil that has been next to my aerogarden for warmth for two weeks and then I strained out the grounds, I triple filtered the oil to remove particulate. I ended up with this…

Pic-01142014-002After that I had my double boiler set up and added equal parts of cocoa butter, shea butter and almond oil to my infused coconut oil. I listened to some music and drank some hard cider while I waited for the cocoa butter to melt in. After it is all melted and mixed I rested the bowl in the fridge until the edges start to significantly cool and harden it is time for the mixing. This can take 30-45 minutes generally, depending on your equipment and quantity. Really you want an electric mixer and go ahead and whip the body butter for about 8-10 minutes, if you are a crazy person with no electric mixer just whisk it till your arm is going to drop off.  When it is all cooled and whipped pour the body butter into your chosen container. The mixture will continue to stiffen after you stop whipping so get it into a container instead of letting it rest.

Pic-01152014-004

Leave a Reply

